Endovascular Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm (AAA) Repair with the GORE EXCLUDER® Bifurcated Endoprosthesis

A minimally invasive treatment option for patients with abdominal aortic aneurysms (AAA).

First Seen Live Webcast: Wednesday, June 22, 2005 at 4 pm CT, 5 pm ET, (21:00 UTC) Non CME



View Live Webcast View Preview

 
Oklahoma Heart Hospital
 

On June 22, 2005, at 4 p.m.(CT) Jim Melton, D.O., of Oklahoma Cardiovascular Associates, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, performed an endovascular abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) repair with the GORE EXCLUDER® Bifurcated Endoprosthesis. The procedure was performed at Oklahoma Heart Hospital and moderated by Lenny Stubbs, M.D.

 
Endovascular Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm (AAA) Repair
 

The annual mortality from abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) rupture is 15,000 patients, making it the 13th leading cause of death in the US. Traditional surgical treatment of AAA involves a large incision to place a synthetic graft to repair the diseased artery. This method can result in long hospital stays and painful recoveries.

 
Oklahoma Heart Hospital
 

Gore's EXCLUDER® Bifurcated Endoprosthesis is an innovative device designed to be a minimally invasive treatment option for patients with abdominal aortic aneurysms (AAA). It is constructed of a durable ePTFE bifurcated graft with an outer self-expanding Nitinol support structure to combine both device flexibility and material durability. The function of the endoprosthesis is to internally reline the abdominal aorta, including the bifurcation, and isolate the aneurysm from blood circulation. The device is inserted by a catheter-based delivery technique through small incisions in the patient's legs. The expected outcomes of this new treatment option include decreased procedural times and shorter hospital stays.

GORE and EXCLUDER® are trademarks of W. L. Gore & Associates. © 2005 W. L. Gore & Associates, Inc. AJ0151-EN1



The webcast uses Realplayer to display both video and synchronized slides in side by side windows. Viewers can download a free copy of the player here.

It is not necessary to purchase any of Real's premium players or subscription plans. The free basic player is all that is required to view the surgery.
OR-Live.com


 
 
Make an Appointment
Make a Referral
Request Information
   
   
 
Physicians will answer viewer questions during the live webcast. Click here to send yours.
 
  Ask the Doctors